Introduction of Orange Cap in IPL

Virat Kohli is topping the list of the highest run-takers in the IPL 2024. Will he bag the Orange Cap this season just like the 2016 one? However, it is important to mention that Royal Challengers Bengaluru is holding the 10th position on the point table which means that they can be eliminated at any time. If it happens then it will reduce the chances of Virat’s chances of winning the cap. However, we are praying for the best for Virat. Read the blog & stay connected with to get all the sports news & IPL news at the right time.

List of highest run-takers in 2024:

1. Virat Kohli:

Virat Kohli is holding the 1st position in the list of the highest run taker of 2024. He has played 9 matches for RCB and has bagged 430 runs with an average of 61.43.

2. Sunil Narine:

Sunil Narine is one of the most trusted batters of Kolkata Knight Riders right now. He has played 8 matches for KKR and has bagged 357 runs with an average of 44.63.

3. Ruturaj Gaikwad:

Ruturaj Gaikwad is the new captain of Chennai Super Kings and he has already bagged an Orange Cap back in 2021. This season, he has played 8 matches & scored 349 runs with an average of 58.17.

4. Rishabh Pant:

Rishabh Pant is the captain of Delhi Capitals and he has made an excellent comeback after his life-threatening accident. He has played 9 matches and has scored 342 runs with an average of 48.86.

5. Sai Sudarshan:

Sai Sudarshan plays for Gujarat Titans. He played 9 matches and scored 334 runs with an average of 37.11

Orange Cap Winners (2008-2023)

1. Shaun Marsh (2008): He played for Kings XI Punjab. He scored 616 runs in 11 matches, with a prolific average of 68.44 and an impressive strike rate of 139.68.

2. Matthew Hayden (2009): Matthew Hayden played for Chennai Super Kings in 2009, Matthew Hayden scored 572 runs in 12 matches, maintaining an average of 52 and an explosive strike rate of 144.81.

3. Sachin Tendulkar (2010): Cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar played for Mumbai Indians in 2010. Tendulkar’s batting prowess was evident as he scored 618 runs in 15 matches, boasting an average of 47.53 and a steady strike rate of 132.61.

4. Chris Gayle (2011): Chris Gayle played for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011. Gayle’s explosive batting saw him amass 608 runs in 12 matches, with a phenomenal strike rate of 183.13 and an outstanding average of 67.55.

5. Chris Gayle (2012): Continuing his dominance, Chris Gayle retained the Orange Cap in 2012 for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Gayle’s extraordinary season featured 733 runs in 15 matches, showcasing a remarkable average of 61.08 and a staggering strike rate of 160.74.

6. Michael Hussey (2013): Michael Hussey scored 733 runs in 17 matches with an impressive average of 52.35.

7. Robin Uthappa (2014): Robin Uthappa played for Kolkata Knight Riders in 2014. Uthappa scored 660 runs in 16 matches, showcasing a notable average of 44 and a healthy strike rate of 137.78.

8. David Warner (2015): David Warner secured the Orange Cap in the 2015 IPL season while representing Sunrisers Hyderabad. Warner’s aggressive style of play led to 562 runs in 14 matches, featuring an average of 43.23 and an amazing strike rate of 156.54.

9. Virat Kohli (2016): Indian skipper Virat Kohli dominated the 2016 IPL season, winning the Orange Cap for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Kohli’s record-breaking season he comprised 973 runs in 16 matches, boasting an extraordinary average of 81.08 and a remarkable strike rate of 152.03.

10. David Warner (2017): Australian opener David Warner secured the Orange Cap for the second time in the 2017 season, leading Sunrisers Hyderabad. Warner’s impactful batting contributed 641 runs in 14 matches, showcasing an average of 58.27 and a potent strike rate of 141.81.

11. Kane Williamson (2018): In the 2018 IPL season, New Zealand’s Kane Williamson claimed the Orange Cap while captaining Sunrisers Hyderabad. Williamson showcased his batting prowess with 735 runs in 17 matches, featuring an average of 52.50 and a composed strike rate of 142.44.

12. David Warner (2019): Making a strong comeback after missing the previous season, David Warner once again secured the Orange Cap for Sunrisers Hyderabad. Warner’s prolific form saw him accumulate 692 runs in 12 matches, boasting an average of 69.20 and an impressive strike rate of 143.86.

13. KL Rahul (2020): In the unusual circumstances of the 2020 IPL season held in UAE, KL Rahul emerged as the Orange Cap winner while leading Kings XI Punjab. Rahul’s exceptional batting form resulted in 670 runs in 14 matches, featuring an impressive average of 55.83 and a stellar strike rate of 129.34.

14. Ruturaj Gaikwad (2021): Opening for the champion side “Chennai Super Kings”, Ruturaj Gaikwad played exceptionally well and became the first uncapped Indian to win IPL Orange Cap. He smashed 635 runs at a superb average of 45.35, scoring one hundred and four fifties.

15. Jos Buttler (2022): The powerful opener of Rajasthan Royals won the Orange Cap for the 2022 season as he smashed 863 runs scoring four fifties and four hundreds. Scoring at an average of 57.53, Jos Buttler helped his team reach finals once again after 14 years.

16. Shubman Gill (2023): Exceptional season for this young Gujarat Titans opener helped him win the Orange Cap and his team reach finals. Shubman Gill accumulated a total of 890 runs and was very close to beating Virat Kohli’s 2016 record. He smashed at an average of 59.33 scoring three amazing centuries.

Final Words on Orange Cap in IPL

Stay connected with to get all the sports news & cricket news at the right time.