The Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad match was really worth watching. It was not only worth watching because of the fiery performance of Abhishek Sharma but also worth watching because we saw a record-making, live. In this match, SRH scored 277/3 in 20 overs, and with this score, SRH broke the 11-year-old record of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). previous Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) was holding the glory of making the highest-ever runs in the IPL history. However, the record of RCB is a history now. Now SRH is holding the glory of making the highest-ever runs in the IPL history ever. On this changing moment, let’s focus on the special; day when RCB made this record. Read this blog & & stay connected with to get all the sports updates on time.

What is the shout? What is the record?

On 27th March 2024, SRH played against MI at the  Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad. It was the second match of MI in this league and SRH defeated them by 31 runs. With this, SRH scored 277/3 in 20 overs. It is the highest-ever run in the IPL history.

What is the previous record?

Previously, the record was 263/5. This run was scored by RCB against Pune Warriors back in 2013. That day, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) to a massive 130-run victory over Pune Warriors (now-defunct).

What was the day for RCB:

The date of the match was 23rd April 2013. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) was scheduled to play against Pune Warriors (now-defunct) & the venue of the match was M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Although the start of the match was not great due to rain. The match got delayed. However, when it started, it blew out our minds. In this match, the “Universe Boss” Chris Gayle scored an unbeaten 175 against now-defunct Pune Warriors India (PWI) to set the record for the highest individual score in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Gayle created history for RCB, for himself and broke the record of Brendon McCullum’s. Gayle broke Brendon McCullum’s record of 158 for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the inaugural season.

Well, undoubtedly that was the day of Gayle. He made another record on the same day. Gayle smashed the quickest century in Twenty20 cricket as well. By sitting on the wing of Gayle  RCB became the first team to cross the mark of 250 runs in the IPL.

Gayle’s blistering 175-run knock was packed with seventeen huge sixes and thirteen fours and to put salt on Pune’s wound, the West Indies cricketer also picked two wickets in his last over.

The Gayle & RCB storm was extremely heavy on that day. PWI failed to give a good fight even. It seemed like they had surrendered in front of RCB. Pune scored only 133 runs in 20 overs which is below average even. This led to a massive 130-run victory for RCB. The only positive for Pune in that match was ace Indian seamer Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who conceded just 23 runs in his quota of four overs.

Let’s focus on the squad:

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad:


Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Saurabh Tiwary, Arun Karthik (wk), Ravi Rampaul, Vinay Kumar, Murali Kartik, RP Singh, Jaydev Unadkat.


Abhimanyu Mithun, Abhinav Mukund, Andrew McDonald, Cheteshwar Pujara, Daniel Vettori, Harshal Patel, KP Appanna, Karun Nair, Mayank Agarwal, Muttiah Muralitharan, Prasanth Parameswaran, Sandeep Warrier, Sunny Sohal, JS Mohammad, Vijay Zol, Zaheer Khan, Daniel Christian, Moises Henriques, Pankaj Singh, Christopher Barnwell, KL Rahul

Pune Warriors Squad:


Aaron Finch (c), Robin Uthappa (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Steven Smith, Luke Wright, Mitchell Marsh, Mithun Manhas, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishwar Pandey, Ali Murtaza, Ashok Dinda.


Angelo Mathews, Anustup Majumdar, Dheeraj Jadhav, Eklavya Dwivedi, Harpreet Singh Bhatia, Krishnakant Upadhyay, Mahesh Rawat, Marlon Samuels, Rahul Sharma, Raiphi Gomez, Shrikant Wagh, Wayne Parnell, Tirumalsetti Suman, Tamim Iqbal, Udit Birla, Abhishek Nayar, Ajantha Mendis, Kane Richardson, Parvez Rasool, Ross Taylor, Manish Pandey

Overview of the historic match:

Name of the teams: RCB vs PWI

Number of the match: 31st Match

League: Indian Premier League, 2013

Date: Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Time: The match started at 3:30 AM

Venue: The venue of the match was M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru.

Umpires: Aleem Dar, Chettithody Shamshuddin

Third Umpire: Subrat Das

Match Referee: Andy Pycroft

Highlights of the match:

Royal Challengers Bangalore Innings: 263-5 (20 overs)

Chris GayleNot out175661317265.15
Tillakaratne Dilshanc A Murtaza b Luke Wright33365091.67
Virat Kohlic M Manhas b M Marsh31833387.50
Saurabh Tiwaryc M Marsh b A Dinda2200100.00
Ravi Rampauc M Marsh b A Dinda01000.00

Total: 263/5 in 20 overs

Did not bat: Arun Karthik , Vinay Kumar , Murali Kartik , RP Singh , Jaydev Unadkat

Fall of wickets: 167-1 (Dilshan, 13.4), 207-2 (Kohli, 16.2), 251-3 (de Villiers, 18.5), 262-4 (Saurabh Tiwary, 19.4), 263-5 (Rampaul, 19.6).

Let’s focus on the reaction of the hero of the day:

Gayle is one of the finest players of the IPL & cricket history. His contributions to the cricket will be cherished forever & ever. So, we can’t stop talking about that day. Gayle is also very nostalgic about that day till now.

“A special day, not only for me but for the fans as well. When I heard so many stories about that particular day, it was like the world stopped. It was like when Usain Bolt ran that 100m and everything stood stuck I am glad to be a part of history. Scoring 100 off 30 balls,” Gayle told Robin Uthappa during an interaction for Jio Cinema.

As a batter, Gayle was heavy on both spinner and pacer. This West Indies star had no mercy on the pitch and was able to take any storm with absolute ease.

“If you dominate their best fast bowler, those to come are shaking in their pants. I like to capitalize on that because if I take down the main bowler, you have this guy or this guy coming after. It’s not gonna work all the time but that’s my kind of mentality. I came across some great fast bowlers in my international career up until my last World Cup,” he added.

“It was fantastic manâ€æ I win most battles against fast bowlers. I am the king; I am the winner. Any fast bowler objects to that, come see me. We can sit one-on-one, we can go into the ring and punch it out or we can have a talk. One winner. Every single fast bowler, I have had a piece of them,” Gayle added.

Is there any queue?

Gayle’s record is in the second position now. However, there are also some records which deserve our attention.

The records are:

  • 257/5 – LSG vs PBKS, Mohali, 2023
  • 248/3 – RCB vs GL, Bengaluru, 2016
  • 246/5 – CSK vs RR, Chennai, 2010

Final words:

Although we are feeling sad for MI. However, SRH did a great & outstanding job. Enjoy the IPL 2024 & stay connected with to get all the sports updates on time.